03
Feb
13

itchy feet

It’s been a particularly dry spell in the life of me as a traveller / backpacker / holiday maker / overseas trip with work blagger. A whole half a year has passed since me and the missus spent a few weeks in Thailand. This was the last time I stepped foot outside of the UK, and my god does that six months feel like a long time ago.

That sounds terribly spoilt, I know. But when you consider I managed a whole twenty brand new different countries between January 2010 and April 2012, it’s no wonder I’ve been feeling hard done by the lack of encounters with customs officers of late.

Just before Christmas I decided it would be a nice idea to treat my mum and stepdad to a trip away as a yuletide present. After all, I’ve never been abroad with Martin, and the last time I was overseas with mum was way back when I was a spotty teenage oik, trying my best to avoid Maths and English lessons by watching Hereford United away football matches.

Back in November I was studying the map of the world located on our kitchen wall and noticed how close two certain capital cities were to each other. Thinking how cool it would be to travel into one and out of the other I quickly checked some flight websites and realised it was a feasible trip to undertake. Being two brand new countries for all four of us (Naomi being my plus one, obviously) it seemed the perfect adventure to undertake.

With a short two hour ferry ride between the two cities, it would also give the chance to experience some ‘proper’ travel over the five nights we will be away.

The suspense is killing you I can tell – the place we will flying out to next week is Helsinki, Finland! Following a few nights in one of the most northerly capital cities in the world we will catch the ferry across the Baltic Sea to Tallinn, Estonia.

Not your average European city (plural) break for sure – but hey, that should add to the fun.

Since booking this trip, myself and Naomi have also booked up a trip to Amsterdam in April for our two year anniversary (where the hell has that time gone) plus a four day stay in Berlin in March to complete our spring travels.

It will be nice to get back to discovering new bars; sorry I mean cities and countries, in the company of my nearest and dearest.

It’s certainly been long overdue.

2 Responses to “itchy feet”


  1. February 4, 2013 at 9:01 am

    Soooooooooooo looking forward to our holiday, two, new to us, countries, and, two, new to us, cities !!!!!!

  2. February 4, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    Beaten to the first post by some weirdo! I am really looking forward to experiencing new places, hotels, languages and drinks with you both and the weirdo!


Leave a Reply

Sign up here for email alerts for updates.....perfect for the fellow lazy office worker!

Join 25 other followers


