04
Jan
11

whooah, we’re half way there

Yes, today is the day where if I was counting how many days I had been away from the UK then I’d realise that I have hit the half way point. It dawned on me the other day speaking to some random girl from Perth that I had hit the three month mark of my trip and that I was only a couple of days away from being able to count down the days till my flight home on April 6th. Not that I’m going to start doing that, you see. The funny thing is I feel like I’m only just getting into this traveller lifestyle. It’s been a crazy three months of which I will find some time at the end of the Ashes next week to start to reflect on what has been a rollarcoaster ride of adventures and experiences since I hugged Mum and Martin at Gatwick Airport back in October.

For now though here’s a link to a Barmy Army favourite song of mine. See, we sing this every time we hit a half way point such as taking the fifth wicket of ten to fall in the innings or say when we hit 175 runs in reply to the oppositions 350. All very silly stuff, which I tried explained without success to an elderly Australian woman on the train back from Fremantle last month. Dave and me were singing to ourselves under our breaths as us cricket fans tend to do in order to pass the time. I started the ‘half way there’ part of Living on a Prayer when we hit our sixth stop of twelve on the journey. This Aussie lady simply said to me, ‘Oh they were brilliant weren’t they’ to which I replied, ‘Yes, incredible performance to win by an innings’ referring to our Adelaide test victory a couple of days previous. She looked confused for a moment, before responding, ‘Sorry, I meant the Bon Jovi concert in town last night’

Doh.

4 Responses to “whooah, we’re half way there”


  1. 1 Gem
    January 4, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    Haha, Love it bless the lil lady 🙂 happy singing! x

  2. 2 donna
    January 5, 2011 at 8:11 am

    Ha ha ha! Liked this living on a prayer blog Rich! Half way…err…yikes its going very quickly this side of the world too!

  3. 3 Donna
    January 6, 2011 at 11:47 am

    So it seems that the England men’s cricket team have ended day four (that is here in the UK Thursday, 6 January 2011)in Sydney ( on Wednesday 5th January) on the verge of a third innings win over Australia and a crushing 3-1 Ashes series victory – their first down under for 24 years – The same time that you’ve been on planet earth Rich! And it seems to me that you are more than halfway there with regard The Ashes….utterly delighted for you and your mates…almost party time again!!! It’s a hard life eh Rich!!!!

  4. 4 Donna
    January 7, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! THE ASHES are won!!!


Leave a Reply

Sign up here for email alerts for updates.....perfect for the fellow lazy office worker!

Join 25 other followers


