14
Nov
10

the traveller stereotype

Seeing as half my blog updates are spent slagging off the average stereotypical traveller or local person I encounter, I thought I better do one aimed at me. It’s a very quick one and more an illustrated update than anything else. Nearly all the comments I get on facebook are to do with my facial hair. Ignore the brilliant scenes that Mount Kinabalu offered or the crazy pictures taken from a tuk tuk. Ignore the photos of the beautiful ladies that I have dined and drunk with on the trip and just comment on my appearence. Not that I mind of course, its quite funny – I was even asked by a Scottish lady if I was a member of the SAS! After all we were in Borneo at the time, I had a beard and told her I was based in Hereford so you can see her trail of thought……So, I can confirm that I have become a stereotypical male traveller. The question is, should it stay or should it go?

8 Responses to “the traveller stereotype”


  1. 1 Donna
    November 14, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Cor blimey I can t keep up with you form my office never mind traveling the world!

  2. 2 Donna
    November 14, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Stay stay stay the beard must stay!!!

  3. 3 Martin Chapple
    November 14, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    I reckon you should cut it off and stick it on top of your head to replace what you’ve lost!!!! Hur! Hur!

  4. 4 Michelle
    November 14, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    I reckon….errrrm shave it when you reach “civilisation” ….sorry I do of course mean Australia

  5. 5 Donna
    November 14, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Thought: What, I wonder, makes Australia “civilised”!! And yes can a beard ever be considered civilized in a post modern culture! Ha ha.

  6. November 15, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Shave it off Rich man… You look like a released hostage!

  7. 8 Donna
    November 18, 2010 at 9:49 am

    But what about this is it that Rich may well be a ‘released hostage’ as in he got off the work track! He is a self made released hostage and therefore also looks like one with his self made hostage beard!!! Just thoughts.


Leave a Reply

