06
Oct
10

busy in bangkok

And so….relax.

This morning my brain has been allowed to switch off for the first time in what feels an age. I’m lying on the communal mattress floor in my hostels reception (yes, this place is that chilled) dozing in and out of sleep while trying to write this blog update.

Since the last time you heard from me I’ve spent the majority of my time with a lad called Simon. We met outside the hostel shower room minutes after getting off the same airport bus after being on the same flight from Dubai. The two days spent in Bangkok has been made extra special by spending time with someone who has a very similar mentality as me. Traveling alone is fine, but not sharing experiences with someone who you get on with is much better – don’t get me wrong, I love own company. I can quite happily spend days with just me and no one else around and not get bored or lonely. However, starting off on such a long trip as this I must admit that i’m pleased to have got off to such a good start with Simon.

That said, after all of the above, i’m also equally as hopeful of a quiet couple of days down in the jungle. I’ve got an eight hour wait till my first overnight train journey which i’m really looking forward to. My hope is for a good nights kip on my second class reclining seat, something I need after a couple of nights partying in Bangkok.

Last night we came back to Khao San Road for a ‘quick pint’ after an evening sweating our balls off at Lumpini Stadium watching some Thai boxing. This was never going to materialise when a few girls came over and asked if they could join us. We spent the next six hours getting smashed up with Laura, Allie and Katy. The latter was an absolute spit for Miley Cyrus! I’ll upload a picture on here and I want the guys at work to rate whether or not she’d make the infamous ‘Lookey-Likey folder’ Anyway, safe to say a good time was had by all and I was asleep before my head hit the pillow at gone 4am. The 6.4% Chang certainly does it’s job when it comes in 600ml bottles.

Another moment that registered with me yesterday was that feeling of euphoria that I spoke about before I left home. We randomly went for a walk slightly off the beaten track yesterday and manged to haggle a local canal boat owner to give us a ride down the Chao Phraya River which runs through the centre of Bangkok. As we set off, a moment of delight hit me as I had a monent i’d been hoping for. Me and Simon on a traditional canal boat all to ourselves in the middle of Bangkok.

Excellent!

Lookey Likey folder?!

Chao Phraya River

Thai Boxing

One of many 'Wats' (Temple things)

5 Responses to “busy in bangkok”


  1. 1 Jane Wickets
    October 6, 2010 at 8:26 am

    I hope you are taking proper precausions if you are meeting men outside shower rooms x !

  2. 2 Donna
    October 6, 2010 at 8:28 am

    Yeah…sounds and looks like you’re having fun Rich..great to hear about you meeting Simon and other friends …and the canal boat…Bangkok is great right….

  3. 3 Bob Sinclair
    October 6, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Bangkok’s a great place Rich..and MC lookalikes help :)..if you have time kanchanaburi is worth a visit especially if u can stay on the floating hotel…

  4. 4 Martin Chapple
    October 6, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Great start Rich, hope the jungle trip goes well! Scary to think there’s someone else with your mentality!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Sign up here for email alerts for updates.....perfect for the fellow lazy office worker!

Join 25 other followers


